top of page

Tribeca 2024 Jury: David O. Russell, Francesca Scorsese, and Asghar Farhadi Join the Festival

Client: Asghar Farhadi – Writer, Director, Producer

The 2024 Tribeca Festival jury has been announced with a star-studded filmmaker lineup.

This year, David O. Russell, Selma Blair, Asghar Farhadi, Kim Cattrall, Francesca Scorsese, and more will select the winning projects in the film, games, and audio storytelling sections across the 17 competition categories. In addition to the awards in competition categories, the Nora Ephron Award, created to honor the spirit and vision of the legendary filmmaker and writer, will be presented.

The festival, presented by OKX, will take place from June 5 through 16.

“We are thrilled to once again welcome a diverse group of remarkable filmmakers, creatives and industry players as jurors for the 2024 Tribeca Festival,” executive vice president at Tribeca Enterprises Nancy Lefkowitz said. “We look forward to their wide-ranging perspectives across storytelling genres and mediums coming together to honor the extraordinary group of submissions this year.”

The winning films, projects, filmmakers, storytellers, and actors in each category will be announced at the Tribeca Festival ceremony on June 13.

The feature film competition categories include the U.S. Narrative Feature Competition, with the jury consisting of “Silver Linings Playbook” director David O. Russell (who also pulls festival double duty as part of the inaugural De Niro Con to celebrate Robert De Niro’s 80th birthday), “Till” and “Clemency” writer/director Chinonye Chukwu, “Fargo” showrunner Noah Hawley, head of AMC Networks’ Film Group Scott Shooman, and “The Miseducation of Cameron Post” director Desiree Akhavan.

The International Narrative Feature Competition will be judged by “A Hero” director Asghar Farhadi, Film4 chairman Daniel Battsek, and “True Blood” actress Fiona Shaw.

“Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project” co-directors Michèle Stephenson and Joe Brewster, president of HBO Documentary Films Sheila Nevins, and Apple TV+ head of documentaries Molly Thompson will oversee the Documentary Feature Competition prize.

“She-Hulk” director Kat Coiro, “Nanny” filmmaker Nikyatu Jusu, and “ER” alum Gloria Reuben will select the Best New Narrative Director, with “We Need To Talk About Cosby” director W. Kamau Bell, “MoviePass, MovieCrash” filmmaker Archie Gips, and “To Kill a Tiger” documentarian Nisha Pahuja picking the Best New Documentary Director.

Selma Blair will serve as a juror for the coveted Nora Ephron Award along with Lucy Hale and the SVP of Acquisitions and Production at Searchlight Pictures, Chan Phung.

Imagine Documentaries president Sara Bernstein, “Tammy” director Ben Falcone, Gamechanger Films CEO Effie T. Brown, “Expats” star Brian Tee, and actress AnnaSophia Robb will select the Viewpoints Competition winner.

Meanwhile, for the short film competition categories, actress Francesca Scorsese teams up with the Executive Director of Museum of the Moving Image (MoMI), Aziz Isham, casting director Margery Simkin, producer Lauren Ruotolo, and video game writer and director Sam Lake to select the Narrative & Animated Shorts Competition.

Iconic star Kim Cattrall is paired with beloved actor/director Griffin Dunne, actress and Deux Dames Entertainment cofounder Clara McGregor, The New York Times reporter Susan Dominus, and OKX Global Chief Marketing Officer Haider Rafique for the Short Documentary and Student Visionary Competition.


bottom of page